Oyster Harbors was first inhabited by the local Wampanoag tribe when they settled on Cape Cod; legend states that Captain Kidd buried treasure at Noisy Point during this time. Around 1658, the island was reserved for Native Americans. However, after a fierce lawsuit in 1737, it was sold to the Lovell family and the island became known as "Grand Island". For the next two centuries, it would remain uninhabited, and was used only for salt works and pastureland.
In 1904, Pulitzer prize-winning Harvard professor Edward Channing built the first permanent home on the island, in the form of a hunting lodge. Eventually, prominent Boston families began to build summer homes as well. In 1925, Forris W. Norris, an entrepreneur real estate developer from Boston visited and saw its potential. In the summer of 1925 he had purchased the holdings, previously owned by Richard and Helen Winfiled. That same year, the Olmsted Brothers laid out a golf course, and the island changed its name from "Grand Island" to "Oyster Harbors."
Incorporated in 1929, Oyster Harbors was developed into a charming summer resort and later became a private country club and neighborhood. Featuring an impressive new clubhouse, a challenging 18 hole golf course designed by reknowned course architect Donald Ross, and thoughtful landscape design by the Olmsted Brothers (designers of New York's Central Park), the area boasts privacy and a sense of escape, yet it is easily accessible to major metropolitan areas. In addition to its proximity to Boston and Providence (each approximately 75 miles away), Oyster Harbors is just 9 miles away from the Hyannis municipal airport offering both private and commuter flights and is close to several ferry services offering travel to Nantucket & the Islands.
Copyright © 2018 Oyster Harbors Specialist - All Rights Reserved.
Visit: oysterrealestate.com for All-Cape Listings.